An Eskimo in Jinotega

3 May

You don’t know happiness until you’ve watched an 8-year-old eat ice-cream for the first time in her life.

Let’s back up here.

Thursday morning was spent attempting the climb to the cross on the hill.  I’m not ashamed to say it: I couldn’t get all the way there.  Apparently I stopped just before the hike became cool and easy.  My rationale was that, if the folks from the Red Cross looked like they were going to pass out, who would save me if I shared the same fate?  Would they bury me where I landed?  Did I mention the cemetery at the bottom of the hill?  Ha!

I think Ruth was the most disappointed, but she has lived with the combination of heat and humidity her entire life.  It was more than I could handle in my all-too-out-of-shape state.  I promised we would successfully make the climb next year — and we will.

Thursday afternoon, we arrived back at the community center to find Geovania, Judy, and Karla waiting to see Nancy.  We decided it would be fun to take them for ice-cream at the Eskimo downtown, where I had gone with Sarah and Ruth just a week prior.  They seemed to know where the shop was, but didn’t appear terribly excited.  I think, perhaps, I’ve noted the heat and humidity to you before, yes?  (cough.)  How could a dairy-loving person in Nicaragua be anything but excited for ice-cream?  Both Nancy and I had noted their muted responses individually, but didn’t say anything to each other.  We would understand in good time.

As we headed into the Eskimo, the girls seemed to perk up and become downright giddy with the idea of ‘choices.’

“What flavor ice-cream do you want?” asked Nancy.

When you live in poverty, you don’t have many choices in your life.  These girls would each have one to make today.

Geovania came back to the table with eyes the size of saucers, a double-scoop in one hand, a spoon in the other.  I was sitting across from her when she took her first bite.  The combination of excitement, thrill, and new-found knowledge on her face was priceless.  She quickly whispered something to her cousin, then took a second, bigger bite.

Life is good.

3 Responses to “An Eskimo in Jinotega”

  1. donna treloar May 17, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    Nate and I had never seen Eskimo. Imaginbe if we could have taken Juliann and Gracel! Next time. And Nate would have loved to go to Selva Negra. I don’t mountain climb much any more, but it is one of his favorite activities.. We didn’t know about that until we met the family from Managua at the Finca Esperanza. Do try that place for a few days if you hav e a chance. It is near San Ramon.

  2. T Ives May 24, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    I love, love, love Eskimo! Coco and Dulce de Leche are my two favorites, wait maybe Guanabana! Wonderful story 🙂

    • elizaluz May 24, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

      Thanks for the comment, T! I think my favorite is coconut. Admittedly, however, I didn’t get to try all of them — maybe on my next trip!

Leave a Reply

